An External Approach of Seeing Education in the Moroccan Context

Since my childhood, I have been loving explaining a concept to my friend. I have been loving writing on the board and seeing my friends behind me. I do not hesitate when someone asks me to help him or her to understand a topic. I love reading what does not appear in the textbooks. I enriched this experience, after years of learning the basics of computer science, by volunteering in teaching web development during a summer camp. It was one of the best experiences that I ever had because I helped some high schools students to build their own websites. It was a unique experience that taught me how to deal with students, how to act in a classroom, and how to explain a hard concept in a fun and easy way. My interviewee was happy to see a student asking about his job because he told me that it is a good opportunity for him to talk about the problems that he faces everyday. He is an associate professor at Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane. He asked me to not include his name in the report. I was glad to meet him because I learned many things from a different mindset. The interview was as follows:

Ahmed Lekssays: What happens during a typical day?

Professor: I have a few hours of teaching, office hours, and independent research. Sometimes, I have some meetings with the administration about the supervision, curriculum, and students. In addition, I have to deal with students in some internships, capstones, and exit tests.

Q: What are the most important personal satisfactions and dissatisfactions connected with your occupation? What part of this job do you personally find most satisfying? Most challenging?

A: I believe that explaining well a topic  and see that students understand it well forms my personal satisfactions.  On the other hand, I believe that if the student did not get the point behind a topic is a dissatisfaction for me. The challenging part of my mission is to explain a topic which requires some prerequisites and background information because I need to explain the  prerequisites  and the actual course material in a short period of time.

Q: What kinds of problems do you deal with?

A: Some of the problems that I face in teaching are politics related problems with administration, lack of students’ motivation, and issues related to U.S. modern educational system.  The U.S. modern educational system reduces the meeting time with students, so professors do not play their mentorship role with students. Hence, professors do not affect their students. I think that the professors’ roles go beyond what is stated in the textbook. They should affect their students in other aspects of life such as ethics.

Q: What are the major qualifications for success in this occupation?

A: Success is relative. I will be answering according to my own definition of success. For me, it is making a difference in students’ lives. The 3 keys of success in this mission are sincerity, dedication, and patience.

Q: What special advice do you have for a student seeking to qualify for this position?

A: First, you should not take it as a job or just a position that guarantees an income. Second, you should take your studies seriously. Finally, you should keep learning outside the class and beyond what textbooks stated.

Q: Do you have any special words of warning or encouragement as a result of your experience?

A: According to my experience, you should always question your intention. Why am I doing this? Is it for money, fame, or status? This will help you to figure out the right reason. If it is based on money, fame, or status, just look for another mission. Teaching is not for you.

Q: What kinds of experience, paid or unpaid, would you encourage for anybody pursuing a career in this field?

A: Tutoring would be a great experience, especially if it is not paid. By explaining a concept to someone, you will benefit as well. You should take it as a duty to help your environment understand a concept that you are familiar with.  

Q: How has your job affected your lifestyle?

A: Actually, it affected it in many ways, but the important thing is that you keep learning, and you are always surrounded by young people, which improves your energetic outlook.

Q: How do you see professors’ value in Morocco?

A: Moroccan society shows a high respect to professors in general. However, there are some professors who do not take their job seriously. Thus, they affect other professors who are serious about their mission.

Q: How do you see professor’s’ role in the development of nations?

A: The role of professors is fundamental in the development of nations. However, as I said before the professor should take teaching as a duty. The professor should have an impact in his or her environment. For example, “At Taalim Al-Atik” is a good example of having an impact on students because of everyday meetings. The students learn how to deal with different status. For instance, they know how to deal with him or her when he or she is angry.

Q: Is there anything else would you like to share?

A: I would like to keep my name hidden. On the other hand, I am very disappointed about the status of professors’ around the world. Some professors are teaching because of money, fame, or status. Thus, the work atmosphere has become negative.

I was inspired, motivated, and influenced by my interviewee because the interview contained what I was looking for. I needed to question myself in order to choose the right path. My interviewee sees teaching as I was seeing it. It is not only a job. It is a duty and a mission that can change positively a community. The main points that I got from the interview are hard work, patience, and dedication.

First, I learned that the professor is a hard worker who goes beyond what is stated in the syllabus or course material. The professor should have the ability to think outside the box in order to explain a concept to his or her students. This skill can be improved by looking for different resources and by analyzing different teaching strategies. Thus, the continuous learning is not always about the field of studies. It goes beyond that because it involves analyzing the background of students in terms of psychology, culture, and ability to grasp the information. A professor should have the ability to explain hard concepts in an easy way to help the students to understand it because the way of explaining reflects the understanding of the concept by the professor himself or herself. In addition, the professor should be open-minded because sometimes students know what the professor does not know, so the flow of information should be in both directions.

 Second, teaching is about patience. The professor has a fundamental role in his or her community. He or she is a source of knowledge that can build knowledgeable community. The professor should have an impact on his or her students who represent the next generation. However, it is hard under the American educational system because the meeting time is not enough to have an impact on them. The professor should be a model in different aspects of life because he or she is seen as a leader that the community respect and follow. So, the fundamental key if a student wants to pursue his or her path in teaching is patience. It is not a job that pays materialistically. It pays in terms of personal satisfaction and effect that goes beyond the personal goals. Therefore, it should be seen as a duty not an a source of money.  

Finally, dedication is another fundamental key is building a successful career as a professor. The professor should love what he is doing. He or she should play his or her role without expecting a reward from the community. The best example for a student to experience this job is tutoring, especially if it is unpaid. The student will learn how to give without expecting a reward. It can be unseen because it is not materialistic, but it enriches self-satisfaction which is my ultimate goal. Success can be seen from different perspectives, but I define it as reaching self-satisfaction by sharing knowledge with the Humanity.

To sum up, being a professor is not an easy mission because it involves many aspects such as personality, community, and personal definition of success. The main keys that the students should have in order to be a successful professor who has an impact in his or her community are patience, dedication, and hard work. Sharing and building knowledge is a noble thing because it helps Humanity in the path of development. This mission can be experienced by unpaid tutoring because it is a minimal version of teaching.

Image Copyright: Artsfon http://www.artsfon.com/pic/201511/1920×1080/artsfon.com-75547.jpg

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

